Home » Social Issues » Online Life: Owning Your Own Data

Online Life: Owning Your Own Data

Norbert Haupt

As our lives have become more and more public over the last decade, we have to ask ourselves whether we down the data that we “create.”

WordPress

No doubt, I own the words on this blog post as I am writing them. I know for sure, because I am making them up one word as a time as I go.

However, they are not stored in any place that I own. They are stored on some website server hosted by WordPress, and frankly, I don’t even know where in the world. As soon as I click on that “Save Draft” button to the right of this column, this sentence could actually be sitting somewhere in the dark arctic night in North Sweden, or in Atlanta, or in North Carolina, or right here down the street in San Diego, exactly where I will never know.

I haven’t even backed up this blog…

View original post 564 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow Blog of Things: on WordPress.com
